Skip to Store Area:

Pure Effect Water Filters

Dear Customers, please use the website to place your order; we do not process orders by phone. Thank you!

Pure Effect ULTRA-WHC | City Water Whole House Filtration System

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

ULTRA-WH-C (City-Water) | Whole-House Fluoride, Radiation, Heavy Metal, Chemical and Sediment Water Filter / Revitalizer

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Water Quality
18 Review(s)

Availability: Backordered

TEMPORARILY DISCONTINUED: Pending expansion of our facilities and manufacturing capabilities, this product is temporarily discontinued.  We expect to have them back in stock in early 2019.

We have not discontinued replacement cartridges for these units, Click Here

Please note: For optimal drinking/cooking water, our countertop and undercounter filters are more effective than whole house units.  

And for signficantly improved shower water, our PureShower Filter is a great option.

Add Items to Cart Add to Cart

Customer Reviews

  1. Highly Recommended
    Review by Gail Verified Customer
    Ease of Use
    Water Quality
    Build Quality

    I purchased my Pure Effect Whole House Water Filter almost four years ago. The system is remarkable in purifying the city water of Dallas. My friends are amazed at the results. In addition, my organic garden production has increased substantially, without the chlorine and other "gunk" which stunt plant growth! The improved flavor and nutritional value of my herbs and vegetables are quite apparent. Highly recommended (Posted on 5/27/2018)

  2. New house
    Review by temp AZ address Verified Customer
    Build Quality
    Ease of Use
    Water Quality

    We haven't actually used the system yet, but several people in our development have it & love it so I believe we will be very happy with it. It will be installed very soon in our new house & we will love it I'm sure, (Posted on 5/2/2018)

  3. Excellent
    Review by Waffle Verified Customer
    Ease of Use
    Water Quality
    Build Quality

    My wife has been ill for a few years now and she is recovering from her illness. When we were visiting with her physician on a weekly basis, we mentioned that we were in the process of building a new home and we were looking for a complete water filtration system. Our doctor immediately recommended Pure Effect Filters so we did some research and decided to purchase the ultra city water whole house filtration system. It has been the best purchase for our new home and we feel so confident that we are getting water at its purest form. Even the plumber told us when he was installing it, this system has to be the best water filtration system I have ever installed. WE LOVE IT! (Posted on 3/6/2018)

  4. Clean water cleaning me and my home!
    Review by Jack Verified Customer
    Ease of Use
    Water Quality
    Build Quality

    I was expecting great "tasting" water, I was buying Fiji, but wow! I live in a MUD district that has two wells, yet treats the water with all the same nasties as the cities. For my little granddaughter, especially, it was time for all of us to live fluoride free, not too mention radiation, pharmaceuticals and waste chemicals! This water filter system had an unexpected benefit with the few years old all copper piping, and standard fixtures: shower heads became unclogged, toilet bowl water flushing alone seem to clean the stains! In general, good water naturally cleans our bodies and our stuff! Thank you, Igor, with your help and patience! Highly, highly, recommend !!! (Posted on 3/27/2017)

  5. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! Finally I have wonderful whole house tap water that I can drink!!!!
    Review by Katie Verified Customer
    Ease of Use
    Water Quality
    Build Quality

    THANK YOU!!!!!
    I have been researching water filters for a few years and was really disappointed with the options and costs, water waste, awkward management of units etc. Finally I followed through on a review, recommendation by Dr. Carolyn Dean who confirmed that she loves the filter system.
    I am REALLY HAPPY with my new house filter. Where I live the water is hard (10 on a scale of 1-10) and smells/tastes chlorinated and other unknown non water elements that are scary to consume. I never drank the tap water let alone give my pets that water without putting it through a brita. That was then. Now, bathing, showering, washing, drinking are all a happy even joyous experience. The water is so soft and leaves my skin and hair really soft too.
    I have only had the filter for a month or so, the first few days after installation the water tasted odd, sort of papery, but after a few days, maybe a week, it all started to taste like mountain spring water with no smell at all.
    I love the easy install and the filter placement, all you do is screw the cylinders in and voila. The price point is really reasonable too, especially with only having to replace filters once a year.
    If things turn less positive I will update this review but for now I feel that finally I am not drinking, bathing or washing in toxic water. What a RELIEF!

    MERCHANT RESPONSE:
    Thank you for your passionate review Katie, we are very happy to read it! A few points I'd like to clarify for you and our other customers. The "Papery" taste you mention is a normal and expected effect of the natural calcium in the system adapting, so during the initial usage the water may taste/smell "earthy" or "papery", but as you already noted, this quickly subsides.

    With regard to drinking/cooking with this water: Although your water quality is now significantly improved, it still passes/sits in your plumbing system before it comes out of your faucet, so there is potential for it to absorb contaminants from your plumbing system, as such, we recommend one of our countertop/undercounter filter systems for the kitchen to clean the water directly AFTER the plumbing system and at much slower flow rate, which also helps with even greater efficacy for removing some of the most difficult contaminants to the highest %. e.g. fluoride.

    Also, although our systems may help with hard water (high calcium carbonate content), this is not their main purpose and a water descaler/softener would be the proper solution for hardness. We will be carrying salt-free water softeners in the coming months. (Posted on 11/2/2016)

  6. Great System!
    Review by Colette Verified Customer
    Ease of Use
    Water Quality
    Build Quality

    We installed the system ourselves and have had excellent results! (Posted on 5/8/2016)

  7. The best choice for my chemical sensitivities
    Review by Mimi Verified Customer
    Ease of Use
    Water Quality
    Build Quality

    I'm highly sensitive to chemicals. When I discovered that washing clothes and taking showers in the water from our county water supply was making me sick, I knew I had to buy a good whole house water filtration system. After researching different filtration systems, I felt more at ease when I found Pure Effect Filters. I have had this system for more than a year, and it's wonderful. I have a household of three, and recently replaced the filter cartridges after one year. Pure Effect -- Thank you for making such a wonderful water filtration system. (Posted on 3/16/2016)

  8. Happy Customer Review of Pure Effects Whole House Water System
    Review by Pamela R. Verified Customer
    Ease of Use
    Water Quality
    Build Quality

    I would like to thank Pure Effects for the brilliant Whole House Water System purchased not long ago. I did a lot of online research to look for a quality system that cleaned the full range of chemicals and toxins out of the water. Documentation for installation was well done, filters easy to replace and the system works like a charm. We are very satisfied with the product and I have recommended it to others looking to purify their water from a whole-house perspective. (Posted on 3/1/2016)

  9. Wouldn't Switch Back
    Review by J.P. Verified Customer
    Ease of Use
    Water Quality
    Build Quality

    I'll provide a quick list of pros and cons, but want to say that overall I'm very pleased with my purchase.
    Pros:
    1. The customer service is excellent. Igor was very helpful on all of the many occasions that I called.
    2. Delivery is fast
    3. The set-up isn't too hard, but I did use a plumber. I placed my unit outside, so this set-up was a bit different. I know these units aren't made to go outside in the elements, but my water line starts at the road and then branches out in all directions before reaching the house. If I wanted to filter it all, I had to start there. So, my set-up was a bit more difficult than the average set-up will be. If I had put it in a garage, it would have been even simpler.
    4. It holds up very well outside. I have mine covered and insulated. There have been no leaks or breaks as of yet. I'm going on my second year now, so things may change. I have had a problem with rust on some of the parts, but I think this is due to the fact that there is so much condensation on my unit from the insulation and outdoor temp. variation. In a garage, I don't think there would be much rust, if any.
    5. It removes the chlorine very well. The smell and texture of my water has changed dramatically. When I had to remove the cartridges for about a week (I was behind in ordering new ones), I was shocked at how strong the chemical smell in the water was. It burned my eyes and skin- my water co. gets in trouble regularly for their violations. When the unit is in, I detect none of this. With the filter, I never get chlorine burns or rashes from the water anymore.
    Cons:
    1. Low water pressure. Even when I fully open the faucets, there is a noticeable difference in pressure. Usually, after I first replace the cartridges, the pressure isn't too bad. After a while though the pressure becomes much lower. If someone on the other side of the house flushes while I'm in the shower, my pressure is easily cut in half. This, naturally, worsens as the cartridges become older. Some of this may be due to the distance of the filter from the house, too.
    2. Carbon. It is not always easy to flush the carbon out of the cartridges completely. I try to flush into the yard before I let the water go into the house pipes, but even then, some always gets in. The amount varies from cartridge replacement to cartridge replacement. My first time was horrible. My second time, there was no carbon. The last time, there has been a medium amount. I see it mostly in the toilets. There is a black residue that remains. However, to me, this is a minor inconvenience compared to the benefit of having the filter.
    3. Price. I wish the replacement cartridges were cheaper, since I have to replace them about 3 times a year.
    4. Messy. This is just the nature of filters, but replacing the cartridges can be messy. Water will get on and around you. With a smaller filter this isn't a problem, but with one this size, that's a significant amount of water. I wouldn't recommend putting this inside of a home. A garage is your best bet.

    Overall, I'm pleased with my purchase. If I had to do it all over again, I'd definitely buy the filter. I do wish the cartridges lasted longer somehow. I guess this isn't possible without a larger unit, which I don't want. As for my star rating. I gave it a 4 on water quality because of the carbon issue and pressure issue. I putting a 4 on build quality because of the plastic connecting parts on the unit (not the housings- those are fine).

    MERCHANT RESPONSE:

    Dear JP,

    First, thank you for taking time out of your day to write a helpful, honest and informative review of your experience, it's much appreciated. A few comments on what you've said which I would like to clarify for you and potential customers. You mentioned some rusting, and yes, this can occur if you install it outdoors (which we don't recommend in our instructions). Nevertheless, this is a purely cosmetic effect and is related to the floor stand bracket, and has nothing to do with the internals of the filter or water quality. That being said, we're in the process of making the main bracket out of stainless steel on the new batch of systems, we're on it! :)

    With respect to water pressure, this depends on the overall PSI in your plumbing system to begin with. For most of our customers, there is no pressure drop, however, if your PSI is low to begin with (under 50), then there will be some reduction in pressure. Also, only the first 3 cartridges must be flushed first before you placed the 4th (last) one in, else it will get clogged from the carbon dust from first 3. Other pressure drop issues can be easily remedied by a simple booster pump installed before the filter system. We recommend looking for a low-noise / quiet booster pump. If you need to easily check your water pressure, an inexpensive device like this can work and you won't need to pay a plumber come out for this simple task:

    http://www.amazon.com/Rain-Bird-P2A-Pressure-Gauge/dp/B00004RACK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1454021372&sr=8-1&keywords=rainbird+pressure+gauge

    To better and easily flush new cartridges, we recommend installing a drain/bypass valve at the output of the filter, which allows to simply connect a garden hose and flush out the cartridges without spilling water everywhere. When changing cartridges, there are some basic steps we recommend to help with minimizing water spilling, please contact us to confirm if you're doing this properly.

    With regard to the plastic connecting parts, we have switched those out to lead-free brass. If you'd like to replace yours with brass ones, please give us a call.

    We have improved even more since you purchased your system, and it is because of feedback like yours. Thank you very much, and please don't hesitate to contact us if you every have any concerns or need some advice on your system.
    (Posted on 1/28/2016)

  10. Excellent!
    Review by Chris Verified Customer
    Ease of Use
    Water Quality
    Build Quality

    Water tastes great. Website is full of useful information. Their customer support team answers the phone immediately and is highly knowledgeable. (Posted on 6/11/2015)

Items 1 to 10 of 18 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: ULTRA-WH-C (City-Water) | Whole-House Fluoride, Radiation, Heavy Metal, Chemical and Sediment Water Filter / Revitalizer

How do you rate this product?
  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Ease of Use
Water Quality
Build Quality